How many electron shells does the element nitrogen have?

Nitrogen has two occupied electron shells.

As you can see from , Nitrogen (element 7) is on the second row of the table. The table is structured so that each row represents a new electron shell, where moving over one block adds one electron.

Given this information, we can see that Nitrogen has two electrons in its innermost shell, and five in its outermost, for a total of seven electrons across two shells.

If you plan on applying this logic further down the table, it is important to note that the Lanthanide and Actinide series must be inserted into the main table where indicated by the stars: they are only removed for ease of display.