600 words essay about a music concert


Pat Metheny and the American Beat


Thursday, Mar. 30 – 8:00 pm

Bramwell Tovey – Conductor

Ricardo Morales – Clarinet

Christopher Deviney – Vibraphone

She-e Wu – Marimba

Michael Jones – Tenor

Daniel Schwartz – Tenor


Bernstein – Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs for Solo Clarinet and Jazz Ensemble

Metheny – Duo Concerto for Vibraphone and Marimba


Dvorák – Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 (“From the New World”)

Thursday, March 30, 2017


Principal Percussion Christopher Deviney calls 20-time Grammy winner Pat Metheny and his composing partner Lyle Mays the “most important duo to come along since George and Ira Gershwin.” Deviney has orchestrated three Metheny jazz tunes into an all-new percussion concerto starring She-e Wu on marimba and himself on vibraphone. “To have a solo is a dream come true but to then premiere it with The Philadelphia Orchestra—my own orchestra—is beyond what I ever thought would happen,” he says. Audience favorite conductor Bramwell Tovey brings his impresario’s touch to a clever program that combines the world premiere with Dvorák’s lofty final symphony—“From the New World” indeed, as it was written in New York City—and Bernstein’s jazz-infused Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs, a jazz-hall style work for clarinet and orchestra premiered by Benny Goodman.